top of page

Focus on Latin America Seminar Series

Political Crisis in Perú: Causes and Consequences


Date: December 20, 2022 (Tuesday)


Time: 8 PM HKT, 9 AM Chile, 7 AM Peru and Ecuador


On zoom: https://hku.zoom.us/j/97573958638?pwd=QkgrTFc3SlJDKzU3eFlZaW9sSXB3UT09


Speakers:

Dr Javier Puente, Associate Professor and Chair of the Latin American and Latino/a Studies Program at Smith College, United States

Sergio Ruiz, 2022 Asia Global Fellow (Ecuador)

Dr Roland Vogt, Associate Professor of European Studies, Head of School of Modern Languages and Cultures, HKU


Moderator:

Dr Bárbara Fernández-Melleda, Assistant Professor in Latin American Studies, HKU


Less than 10 days ago, Peruvian president Pedro Castillo was ousted from power in an impeachment vote. Such scenario was the potent response to his bid to consolidate his rule by dissolving congress. He is not the first Peruvian president to do this, in fact, Alberto Fujimori played the same card back in 1992. With Castillo facing prison time and scrutiny from the opposition, and support from his grassroots voters, it remains to be seen what will happen in this new age of Peruvian politics as Vice President Dina Boluarte was sworn in to replace him. What were the causes of Castillo’s decisions and what is next for Peru? In this seminar, we will discuss Peruvian politics from within and also the impact of the current scenario in along the Latin American region, and also more globally.


All are welcome. No registration is required.


For enquiries, please contact Dr Bárbara Fernández-Melleda at bfernan@hku.hk

192 views
bottom of page